Introduction to Surviving Red

Hello everyone! I hope you all had a wonderful Thanksgiving and I hope you’re having a wonderful week so far. Sorry for not posting last week. I was under the weather and couldn’t manage to write anything. So here is what I have for you guys this week. As I mentioned in one of my previous posts, I have been working on a story called Surviving Red. It started off as a short stories series, but as I was writing it I’ve realized that it has become so much more. So I wanted to give you all a synopsis of what it’s all about as I am finishing up the story.

The story is set during the end of the world, or rather the state of the world is progressively getting worse every day. There have been crazy natural disasters, violence have tripled, and everything is chaotic. The essentials like food, water, and health care treatment are becoming scarce—especially health care. So the government implemented a law stating that it’s against the law to receive medical treatment without some form of payment. To enforce this law the government created a special task force called the DCs.

The story follows Jade. Jade is a severe asthmatic who is $600,000 in medical debt. She knows she’s on the DC’s radar so she goes around scavenging and hiding out. She’s mostly a loner until she’s caught up in a DC sweep (where the DCs start to raid the abandon houses on the outskirts of town). There she meets David, a fellow debtor with diabetes. He expresses his hate for the DCs and government and thinks that they all should stand up and fight against them. Jade never really thought about fighting back. She just thought about surviving. That is until she sees a young girl who reminds her of her estranged sister. Without thinking Jade saves her by killing a DC officer. Now there’s a manhunt for Jade’s head.  Jade teams up with the rebel group The Black Deficit, and other debtors who decided to no longer survive, but fight.

I hope to be done with the first draft by the end of January/early February. I am looking for a graphic artist to do some artwork for me. If anyone knows someone who can do matte painting or some really good sketches please email me at janachantel@yahoo.com

Well that’s it guys! I hope you find my latest project interesting. Until the next time!

 

As always, stay uplifted and inspired.

Jana` Chantel

Leave a Reply

