White Lies

Lie to me, tell me that everything is good; tell me that everyone’s experience is that of those in the hood.
Tell me that here the cards are being dealt fair and that everyone here really cares.
Tell me that everyone is getting an equal piece of the American pie and that everyone is strugglin’ to make it by.
Yeah, continue to tell me lies, cause I can’t fathom the idea of living in a world of inequality; knowing that others are better off would have me thinking how can this be—how are they better off than me?
Aren’t they human like me? Don’t they breathe air and bleed red just like me?
So tell me what I want to hear, tell me that equality really does exist here.
Tell me that there’s nothing but peace and love; tell me that there is no such thing as recreational drugs.
Tell me that poison isn’t flooding the streets and leaving our people broke, tired and in defeat.
Tell me that this isn’t the way it has to be, yeah continue to lie to me.

Tell me that everyone is starving and that there aren’t people with scraps that can feed nations; tell me there’s no such creation.
Cause I need to be naïve, your lies I need to believe; so keep telling your white lies to me.
Tell me that no one cares about the color of your skin and a world of racism isn’t something that we live in.
Because I can see modern day nooses and Jim Crows; so lie to me, tell me that everyone’s minds have grown.
Tell me that ignorance doesn’t exist; my dire need for innocence is leaving me in a state of bliss.
You see I need to believe that everyone is good and life treats you fairly like it should.
I need you to tell me lies, even though I know it’s not right, I just need to remain blind.
Cause living with the knowledge that I know, it makes it harder for you to go, to grow—with life; growing up with injustice just ain’t right, so what I need you to do is just lie.

Tell me the right lies, by telling me white lies.
Because right now I need to hear white lies, so tell me white lies.
Tell me white lies.

Leave a Reply

