Drug Dealer

Yesterday I met a drug dealer who told me he was going to save me, he told me he was going to set my soul right and let my mind roam free/He said “sit back and pay attention, make sure you really listen cause I’mma show you how to rise above these streets”/He told me always have a dream and one day when I gleam, remember to always remain a bright and humble star/Never conform to society and be proud of who you are/I said “isn’t ironic and a little bit of illogic that you tell me not to conform and look at who you are”/“You flood poison into the streets and leave our people in defeat—is this the type of person you really wanted to be”/He said he takes full blame for the man that he became, but he was going to correct his ways through me/I looked into his eyes and saw that there were no lies and decided that I will let him try and save me.

And it all started with a drug dealer, with a drug dealer/It all started with a drug dealer, with a drug dealer/Who knew that one day he’ll be my healer, the drug dealer/And it all started with a drug dealer, a drug dealer.

Yesterday I met a drug dealer who told me he was going to save me, he told me make sure I be all I can be/He said he never put any pressure when selling his poisonous treasure, but to learn the power of no, to avoid becoming a fiend on the streets/I asked him did he ever know that his decision of selling dope would leave so many broke, lost and without hope/He said “what you gotta understand is that it was all about supply and demand” and to play to his advantage with the cards that was in his hands/He came from a poverished home—and like many on his turf—he chose the path where he belonged/He said “but let’s get you back on course, by taking you off course and leading you to somewhere that no one has ever gone”/“Remember at times it can get a little rough, but I know that you are tough, so always remain strong”/“Because I’m determined to see you make it to the top, and I swear that I won’t stop until I’ve corrected my wrongs.”

And it all started with a drug dealer, with a drug dealer/It all started with a drug dealer, with a drug dealer/Who knew that one day he’ll be my healer, the drug dealer/And it all started with a drug dealer, a drug dealer.

Yesterday I met a drug dealer who said he was going to save me, he showed me what type of woman that I can be/He said “you don’t even realize how many temples I’ve vandalized, it’s needless for me to say I was far from a good guy”/“When their money was a little low, they would put on a little show, I would take advantage and hit it, leave then let them go”/“Always respect your body, demand nothing but respect, and if he can’t give you that, leave with no regrets”/“Carry yourself like a lady, live like a Queen, dream and always believe”/I said “I don’t understand, why do you wanna save me and determined to see my mind and soul unchained and roaming free”/He said “I’m trying to get things in order, for you my little daughter, I’m trying to pave a way for the world to know your name”/He said “I’m trying to get things in order, for you my little daughter, I’m trying to pave a way for the world to know your name.”

And it all started with a drug dealer, with a drug dealer/It all started with a drug dealer, with a drug dealer/Who knew that one day he’ll be my healer, the drug dealer/And it all started with a drug dealer, a drug dealer.

Leave a Reply

