This One’s for You

I’m always speaking of positivity and looking at the bright side of things/But heartache and pain seems to be the only thing that life brings/It’s getting harder to keep this smile on my face/Holding my head up high and pretending that everything is ok/But I gotta keep going, can’t let them see me sweat/Hard work and patience will get me success, even if I ain’t there yet/Prayer and music seems to be the only thing that gets me by/Don’t smoke so writing is my natural high/It’s a way to escape/Steady hoping that this dream doesn’t become real too late/Wanna gain profit on my supply/Wanna point out the truth in a world of lies/Wanna say I’m better than just making it by/I look up to the heavens and say “Mom and Dad I do it all for you”/”Just trying to do the things you never got the chance to do”/They say adversity is what makes you, I’m just trying to be the proof.

So this one’s for you/This one’s for you/A little bit of hope and some truth, yeah/This one’s for you.

So used to pointing out the light in the darkest room/So used to visualizing a way out in the face of doom/I refuse to ever be defeated/”I won’t lose my hope,” I say it and repeat it/Every day I hear people stunting on Twitter bragging about how much money they’re making/But in the back of my mind I know they’re faking/And it’s sad though, young woman with a college degree/I know my sistas stripping seen more dollars than me/I’m thinking how can this be?/I further educated my mind, you know, be all you can be/But that’s life though and I gotta face some obstacles/Am I almost there Lord, I just gotta know/Just need to hold on a little while longer/Know that when I make it through I’ll be stronger/I wonder if the world can feel my hunger/I hope that I make it soon cause I ain’t getting any younger.

So this one’s for you/This one’s for you/A little bit of hope and some truth, yeah/This one’s for you.

All the confidence in the world, but sometimes I’m still second guessing/Success and some failures, but it’s all been some lessons/Trying not to let defeat enter my mind, so I’m fighting depression/Steady progressing/Trying to reach out to world, make my stories known/Wanna leave my footprints behind when I’m dead and gone/History is where I belong/Wanna be the topic that children do black history reports on/I just gotta keep chasing my dream/Hold on to my faith and steady believe/Walk with God and there’s nothing that I can’t achieve/So I continue to keep going/Won’t stop my mission until the world end/Want all my fellow dreamers out there to comprehend/Life throws you obstacles, but never give in/And let these encouraging words help you begin…

So this one’s for you/This one’s for you/A little bit of hope and some truth, yeah/This one’s for you.

Leave a Reply

