Motherless Child

Hello everyone,

As some of you all may have known, last Thursday August 2nd, was my mother’s birthday. So I’ve written something to remember her by. I hope you all enjoy. Lyrics can be found below.

R.I.P. Mama

 

It’s hard for me to visit your grave, to stand over your final resting place/With tears streaming down my face/Mama, I wish I’ve gotten a chance to get to know you/To hear your stories, to know what you’ve been through/I wish I’ve seen the type of woman that you were/According to others, you were so pure/So now I idolize you, put you on a pedestal/High expectations, if you were here would they be real?/It’s nagging to have this empty hole in my heart/This empty pain, when will it stop?/Be like my mother, that’s what I’m trying to do/I’m chasing dreams, doing the things you never got the chance to do/It’s comforting to know that you’ll always be by my side/To say that you were my mother gives me great pride/It’s hard for me sometimes because I really miss you/But for now, communicating through my writing will just have to do.

I’m a motherless child/I’m a motherless child/Sometimes I have to look up to God and ask how…can I be a motherless child?

I wonder if you knew what my fate would be like without you/Did you I’d be a dreamer? Have a passion for writing just like you?/Did you know I’d be kind-hearted? Have a peaceful spirit?/Did you know I’d fall in love with a drug dealer…just like you did?/I wonder if you look down from the heavens. Do you smile or do you frown?/I wonder if there were moments when I let you down/I wonder if you know my future, what is to come/Grandkids, will I ever give you some?/I wonder if you knew that I’d grow up with the desire to uplift and inspire/Did you know your little girl will grow up trying to save the world?/Did you know I’ll yearn for you…just like you did for your mother?/Did you know I’ll get shot too . . . but by my own brother?/Been through quite a few things since you’ve been gone/Did you know I’ll grow to be this strong?/But on certain days I feel like I don’t belong because . . .

I’m a motherless child/I’m a motherless child/Sometimes I have to look up to God and ask how…can I be a motherless child?

The only memory of you I have is the night of your murder/Your screams are the only sound from you I’ve ever heard of/And those screams from you are imprinted on my brain/And some days I swear they be driving me insane/Who’s to blame? My father the drug dealer?/Or the men that robbed you and then killed you?/From time to time I wonder what were your last thoughts/Did you think I’ll be bad? Did you think I’ll be lost?/Does it comfort you to know I’m fairing well without you here?/In a world full of cruelty, did you know I’ll be fighting to remain pure?/A lost of a mother is an indescribable pain/Once you have that void you’ll never be the same/Despite everything, I wouldn’t have it any other way/Because of my mother’s absence, I am the woman that I am today/But still the fact of the matter remains . . .

I’m a motherless child/I’m a motherless child/Sometimes I have to look up to God and ask how…can I be a motherless child?

Leave a Reply

