Into My Mind

The publishing process has begun!

On Thursday August 25th (the anniversary of my mother’s death) the publishing process for my book went underway. So far, it has been one of the best days of my life. The feedback I have received thus far is amazing. My publisher said that what she has read so far has brought her to tears, which is a good thing.

Up until this point, we have been doing soft edits and proofreading, with the occasional suggestions as to where some essays should end. So far, this process has been a good one.

I have to admit, I’ve never thought about how much thought and decision making goes into publishing a book. For example, page numbers and where exactly you want them placed on a page. I never thought about that before. And then there’s the process of figuring out how to start the page numbers at one when the story doesn’t start on the first page (i.e. your story starts on page 5, but you want the page number to read “1”). Publishing is a tedious process, but it is rewarding in the end.

I’ve also saw the cover of my book, just seeing that made this experience more real for me. And it has become even more real when my publisher said that she wants to have the book out by September 29th (go big or go home right?).

I have to admit, I have a little doubt as to whether this can be done or not, but I’m still aiming for this date.

It’s just amazing to know that my publisher believes in this project as much as I do. And I’m thrilled to see that she is just as excited as I am.

So September 29, 2011 is the goal (or the beginning of October at the latest).

 

I only have one question for you my fellow readers—are you ready to enter “Into My Mind?”

This time, I wish you well.

4 comments

  1. P. Culberson aka M.Brock · September 6, 2011

    Nice work Sis, September 29th huh? Wow, we have a few things in common I see! I’m also a writer: Music, Editorial & Poetry mainly. September 29th is also the date Bougie Magazine will launch in over 23 Countries! My Wife & I are Hair Editors of the publication. Stay tuned also for launching of Bougie Magazine Detroit… I’m Editor & Chief! I subscribed to your blog, & look forward to reading your book when in it debuts! Be sure to follow us on Twitter @parisportlandla -We just opened a Salon in Downtown Detroit near the Riverwalk, dubbed Salon Paris Portland LA! Hopefully we can be of service to you in the near future.

    Be Blessed & Stay Encouraged,
    Brock

    • janachantel · September 6, 2011

      Thank you! And I can’t wait to check out your magazine!

  2. IAm Ria'Cashi Duhh · September 8, 2011

    Congratz and Im sure everything will fall into place

    • janachantel · September 8, 2011

      Thank you!

Leave a Reply

