Preview Of Non-fiction Piece “Paranoia”

Paranoia

 I stood there helplessly as I watched the young girl kicking, screaming, and rolling around on her living room floor. She was in pain. That was certain. The burning, tingling feeling overwhelmed her. It was as if fire had entered her body and there was a strong vibration feeling that ripped through her. She kept grabbing her right leg as if she couldn’t feel it anymore. I so desperately wanted to console her. I wanted to kneel down by her side and gently rub her head, while telling her that everything was going to be ok. But everything was not ok. It was far from it…

I opened my eyes. Back to reality. I was lying on the living room floor…just like the young girl. I was feeling that burning, tingling feeling…just like the young girl. And I couldn’t feel my right leg…just like the young girl. Then I realize that I was that young girl. I tried to remember what all happened before this event:

  1. I was babysitting my little sister Autumn.
  2. I was getting Erica, my junior high friend, something to drink.
  3. I was talking in the living room with my brother James and Erica.
  4. James said something funny.
  5. There was a loud popping noise.
  6. I saw fire.

G

My worst fear is that I will die like my mother. I pray to God that he will let me die peacefully. I don’t want to be killed like my mother was. But the weird thing is my mother died by a gun; I almost died by a gun…weird, huh?

I feel as if I am haunted by my mother. I constantly have dreams about my mother’s death. The pain in watching that night unfold over and over again makes this void that I have inside of me bigger and bigger.

4 comments

  1. Star · June 23, 2011

    Wow Jana! Your story is very similar with this young girl’s story. But, you have the hand of God on you so survive is what you must do. The fear you’ve mention is captivating and certainly understandable. I would like to offer you this one statement…Acknowledge your fear then allow it to become the fuel you need to propel to greatness. The same energy it takes to feel this fear can become the energy to move you into happiness and prosperity. You are on your way. Luv ya, M

  2. Sara · June 23, 2011

    Hi, just stopped by. This is a great start to what could be a very interesting piece of work. I have noticed that you made a few common mistakes that most beginning writers make. I’d be happy to provide you with some tips I’ve learned along the way if you’d like. Just drop me a line. My email is saratrimble@saratrimble.com. Can’t wait to see more of this piece. It’s going to be a good read.

  3. janachantel · June 23, 2011

    Thanks a lot ladies! And @ Sara I’ll be sure to touch bases with you!

  4. Noland brown · June 26, 2011

    Hey jana! I read your story, it kinda made me feel sad! I know that your mom and dad really loved you, very, very much. I also know that they had big plans for you, that’s why i was so impressed to see how well you were doing in school. It was almost like they had designed a blueprint, and you and daune followd it step by step! Lol jana, i also agree with m, face your fears and allow for the fear to be turned into the energy to fuel your fire! You got what it takes, the skis the limit! Take care, luv ya!:)

Leave a Reply

